Home » Categories » ICD-9-CM Coding

Acute asthmatic bronchitis


Question

How would the diagnosis of "acute asthmatic bronchitis" be coded? 

Answer

Acute asthmatic bronchitis with no further specification is coded to 493.90.  If an acute exacerbation is documented, code 493.92 would be reported.  If status asthmaticus is documented code 493.91 would be reported.

Disclaimer: All articles intended for general consumption only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Acute Renal Insufficiency with Renal Failure
Viewed 1538 times since Mon, Jul 18, 2011
Systolic CHF
Viewed 1410 times since Mon, Sep 19, 2011
Excisional Debridement
Viewed 7338 times since Fri, Sep 21, 2012
Pancreatic lesion
Viewed 4844 times since Fri, Jun 24, 2011
Asthma and Allergic Rhinitis
Viewed 6195 times since Sat, May 28, 2011
Versus Or Contrasting/Comparative Diagnosis
Viewed 1479 times since Thu, Oct 27, 2011
Pediatric vs Adult BMI
Viewed 2262 times since Wed, May 4, 2011
Difficult to Wean Off the Ventilator
Viewed 2172 times since Thu, Feb 7, 2013
Late Effects Codes For Fracture
Viewed 3478 times since Tue, Feb 15, 2011
Back Pain with Muscle Spasm
Viewed 8474 times since Thu, Mar 31, 2011
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506