Home » Categories » ICD-9-CM Coding

Axillary Lump


Question

Please advise on how to code an axillary lump. Should we use the generic 782.2 code, or assume it is a breast lump and use that code?

Answer

This is one of those instances where the coder will need to make the decision. You did not mention what test was being ordered or service provided which may also be of some help in making the decision.  For example, if the patient is undergoing an x-ray, 782.2 would be questionable since this code is indicative of a lump or mass of the skin/subcutaneous tissue. Coding this to a breast lump is questionable as the axilla is not truly considered breast tissue.  That leaves coding this to a lump/mass of the chest 786.6.  

Disclaimer: All articles intended for general consumption only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Upper GI Bleed Secondary to Erosive Esophagitis
Viewed 6687 times since Wed, Nov 17, 2010
Principal Diagnosis Assignment on ED Patient
Viewed 1567 times since Mon, Oct 10, 2011
3-Day Payment Window/POA
Viewed 2657 times since Fri, Dec 3, 2010
Postoperative Complications
Viewed 1099 times since Mon, Apr 25, 2011
BMI
Viewed 110 times since Thu, Jan 20, 2011
Sun Poisoning
Viewed 1919 times since Thu, Jul 28, 2011
History of HTN
Viewed 2300 times since Thu, Jul 7, 2011
Debridements
Viewed 1209 times since Wed, May 11, 2011
Documentation on X-ray Report
Viewed 1016 times since Fri, May 13, 2011
Impending Respiratory Decline and Insufficiency
Viewed 2370 times since Thu, Jun 16, 2011
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506