Home » Categories » ICD-9-CM Coding

Axillary Lump


Question

Please advise on how to code an axillary lump. Should we use the generic 782.2 code, or assume it is a breast lump and use that code?

Answer

This is one of those instances where the coder will need to make the decision. You did not mention what test was being ordered or service provided which may also be of some help in making the decision.  For example, if the patient is undergoing an x-ray, 782.2 would be questionable since this code is indicative of a lump or mass of the skin/subcutaneous tissue. Coding this to a breast lump is questionable as the axilla is not truly considered breast tissue.  That leaves coding this to a lump/mass of the chest 786.6.  

Disclaimer: All articles intended for general consumption only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Respiratory Arrest
Viewed 7259 times since Fri, Apr 22, 2011
Mechanical Ventilation
Viewed 2844 times since Wed, Nov 17, 2010
Laparoscopy Exploratory
Viewed 3854 times since Mon, Apr 11, 2011
Reactive Airway Disease
Viewed 9625 times since Sun, Apr 15, 2012
Pleural Effusion & Atelectasis Coding
Viewed 3664 times since Mon, Jun 13, 2011
Drug-induced Pneumonitis
Viewed 2666 times since Thu, Jun 16, 2011
Fracture
Viewed 1219 times since Sat, Nov 26, 2011
Questionable Terms
Viewed 1147 times since Mon, Aug 22, 2011
Clinical Trial V-code
Viewed 1564 times since Sat, Apr 9, 2011
Chronically Elevated HCG
Viewed 5194 times since Thu, Apr 21, 2011
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506