Home » Categories » ICD-9-CM Coding

Axillary Lump


Please advise on how to code an axillary lump. Should we use the generic 782.2 code, or assume it is a breast lump and use that code?


This is one of those instances where the coder will need to make the decision. You did not mention what test was being ordered or service provided which may also be of some help in making the decision.  For example, if the patient is undergoing an x-ray, 782.2 would be questionable since this code is indicative of a lump or mass of the skin/subcutaneous tissue. Coding this to a breast lump is questionable as the axilla is not truly considered breast tissue.  That leaves coding this to a lump/mass of the chest 786.6.  

Disclaimer: All articles intended for general consumption only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Viewed 1699 times since Fri, Jul 1, 2011
CHF and Rheumatic Heart Disease
Viewed 6900 times since Thu, May 12, 2011
Hypothyroidism with hyperthyroidism?
Viewed 1431 times since Fri, May 20, 2011
Coding High Risk Mammogram
Viewed 2454 times since Wed, Apr 6, 2011
Repeat Prescription
Viewed 5678 times since Wed, Nov 17, 2010
Spine Coding and Spondylolisthesis
Viewed 3134 times since Thu, Oct 13, 2011
Defibrillator Firing
Viewed 6375 times since Thu, Dec 2, 2010
Iron Deficiency
Viewed 6144 times since Wed, Dec 14, 2011
Nasal Packing
Viewed 187 times since Mon, Apr 18, 2011
Sarcoidosis Metastatic to Bone
Viewed 1581 times since Mon, Jun 27, 2011
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506