Home » Categories » ICD-9-CM Coding

Back Pain with Muscle Spasm


Question

When a patient is given a diagnosis of back pain with muscle spasm should the muscle spasm also be coded? If so, would you code it as 728.85 Spasm of Muscle or 724.8 Other symptoms referable to back?

Answer

It would appear that both the back pain and muscle spasm could be coded.  If the diagnosis is listed as back pain with muscle spasm, the muscle spasm would also be in the back.  724.8 would be reported for a muscle spasm of the back.

Disclaimer: All articles intended for general consumption only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Viabahn Endograft
Viewed 2752 times since Mon, Apr 11, 2011
Twins Delivered at 17 Weeks
Viewed 1020 times since Fri, Sep 16, 2011
Pressure Ulcers
Viewed 1328 times since Fri, May 6, 2011
Which of Two Diagnosis Would be Principal?
Viewed 1915 times since Tue, Aug 28, 2012
Rhomboid Sprain Diagnosis
Viewed 3390 times since Fri, Dec 16, 2011
Spine Coding and Spondylolisthesis
Viewed 2326 times since Thu, Oct 13, 2011
Pap Smear ICD-9 Coding
Viewed 3128 times since Fri, May 4, 2012
Coding High Risk Mammogram
Viewed 1830 times since Wed, Apr 6, 2011
Cesarean Section
Viewed 3276 times since Tue, May 24, 2011
Age range on Radiology Examination
Viewed 12795 times since Wed, Jun 15, 2011
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506