Home » Categories » ICD-9-CM Coding

Back Pain with Muscle Spasm


Question

When a patient is given a diagnosis of back pain with muscle spasm should the muscle spasm also be coded? If so, would you code it as 728.85 Spasm of Muscle or 724.8 Other symptoms referable to back?

Answer

It would appear that both the back pain and muscle spasm could be coded.  If the diagnosis is listed as back pain with muscle spasm, the muscle spasm would also be in the back.  724.8 would be reported for a muscle spasm of the back.

Disclaimer: All articles intended for general consumption only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Oversewing a Ruptured Ovarian Cyst
Viewed 4171 times since Thu, Feb 17, 2011
Pressure Ulcers
Viewed 1456 times since Fri, May 6, 2011
Recurrent Subdural Hematoma
Viewed 4618 times since Wed, Oct 12, 2011
Remission vs History
Viewed 7164 times since Tue, Oct 4, 2011
Knee Fracture
Viewed 3681 times since Wed, Nov 17, 2010
Coding Osteoporosis and Osteopenia
Viewed 6888 times since Thu, Jul 21, 2011
Postoperative Complications
Viewed 1145 times since Mon, Apr 25, 2011
Pancytopena
Viewed 2089 times since Mon, Sep 19, 2011
Defibrillator Firing
Viewed 5138 times since Thu, Dec 2, 2010
Pulmonary Nodules and Emphysema
Viewed 4163 times since Sat, Apr 9, 2011
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506