Home » Categories » ICD-9-CM Coding

Back Pain with Muscle Spasm


Question

When a patient is given a diagnosis of back pain with muscle spasm should the muscle spasm also be coded? If so, would you code it as 728.85 Spasm of Muscle or 724.8 Other symptoms referable to back?

Answer

It would appear that both the back pain and muscle spasm could be coded.  If the diagnosis is listed as back pain with muscle spasm, the muscle spasm would also be in the back.  724.8 would be reported for a muscle spasm of the back.

Disclaimer: All articles intended for general consumption only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Hypertension and Diabetic Chronic Kidney Disease
Viewed 3307 times since Thu, May 12, 2011
Overmedicated
Viewed 3076 times since Tue, May 10, 2011
Pancytopena
Viewed 2149 times since Mon, Sep 19, 2011
Coding Signs and Symptoms vs. Imaging Results
Viewed 2673 times since Tue, Nov 16, 2010
EKG Coding
Viewed 1410 times since Thu, Jul 7, 2011
Reason for the Admission
Viewed 898 times since Thu, Apr 19, 2012
Obesity
Viewed 1068 times since Wed, Nov 17, 2010
ICD-9 code Periampullary diverticulum
Viewed 6599 times since Tue, Sep 20, 2011
Laparoscopic Hysterectomies
Viewed 1740 times since Thu, Apr 7, 2011
Family History vs Screening Colonscopy
Viewed 1214 times since Tue, May 8, 2012
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506