Home » Categories » ICD-9-CM Coding

Back Pain with Muscle Spasm


Question

When a patient is given a diagnosis of back pain with muscle spasm should the muscle spasm also be coded? If so, would you code it as 728.85 Spasm of Muscle or 724.8 Other symptoms referable to back?

Answer

It would appear that both the back pain and muscle spasm could be coded.  If the diagnosis is listed as back pain with muscle spasm, the muscle spasm would also be in the back.  724.8 would be reported for a muscle spasm of the back.

Disclaimer: All articles intended for general consumption only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Age range on Radiology Examination
Viewed 16011 times since Wed, Jun 15, 2011
Postoperative Complications
Viewed 1189 times since Mon, Apr 25, 2011
Anemia of Chronic Disease
Viewed 1836 times since Thu, Sep 15, 2011
Respiratory Arrest
Viewed 95 times since Tue, Nov 16, 2010
Coding Supplemental Oxygen
Viewed 3002 times since Wed, Apr 6, 2011
Remission vs History
Viewed 7687 times since Tue, Oct 4, 2011
Acute vs. Chronic Rotator Cuff Tear
Viewed 11442 times since Thu, Apr 14, 2011
Laparoscopic Hysterectomies
Viewed 1792 times since Thu, Apr 7, 2011
Bone Contusion
Viewed 3737 times since Tue, Sep 6, 2011
Postoperative Ileus
Viewed 3214 times since Fri, Jun 17, 2011
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506