Home » Categories » ICD-9-CM Coding

Coding Osteoporosis and Osteopenia


Question

When a diagnosis of osteoporosis and osteopenia are found on a bone density study, is it appropriate to code both findings, or just the osteoporosis since it is the most severe finding?

Answer

There is no coding guideline or instruction that indicates that both cannot be coded however, you are correct that osteopenia is considered a precursor to osteoporosis and that osteoporosis is considered a disease process while osteopenia is considered a condition therefore the osteoporosis is the more severe finding.  Whether you decide to code both will be your decision.  You may also want to develop an internal coding policy if you decide not to code the osteopenia in the presence of osteoarthritis so that there will be no question if this issue comes up on an internal or external coding review.

Disclaimer: All articles intended for general consumption only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Sarcoidosis Metastatic to Bone
Viewed 1445 times since Mon, Jun 27, 2011
Acute Versus Chronic Conditions
Viewed 1895 times since Thu, May 12, 2011
Defibrillator Activation
Viewed 5430 times since Tue, Apr 3, 2012
Retrobulbar Hemorrhage
Viewed 6255 times since Fri, Nov 9, 2012
Pancreatic lesion
Viewed 5422 times since Fri, Jun 24, 2011
Incidental Pregnancy
Viewed 6567 times since Wed, Nov 17, 2010
Axillary Lump
Viewed 9206 times since Thu, Apr 14, 2011
History of HTN
Viewed 2545 times since Thu, Jul 7, 2011
Recurrent Subdural Hematoma
Viewed 4713 times since Wed, Oct 12, 2011
Myelodysplastic syndrome
Viewed 3162 times since Mon, May 2, 2011
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506