Home » Categories » ICD-9-CM Coding

Coding Osteoporosis and Osteopenia


Question

When a diagnosis of osteoporosis and osteopenia are found on a bone density study, is it appropriate to code both findings, or just the osteoporosis since it is the most severe finding?

Answer

There is no coding guideline or instruction that indicates that both cannot be coded however, you are correct that osteopenia is considered a precursor to osteoporosis and that osteoporosis is considered a disease process while osteopenia is considered a condition therefore the osteoporosis is the more severe finding.  Whether you decide to code both will be your decision.  You may also want to develop an internal coding policy if you decide not to code the osteopenia in the presence of osteoarthritis so that there will be no question if this issue comes up on an internal or external coding review.

Disclaimer: All articles intended for general consumption only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Subacute
Viewed 1577 times since Fri, Apr 20, 2012
ICD-9 code Periampullary diverticulum
Viewed 4813 times since Tue, Sep 20, 2011
Twins Delivered at 17 Weeks
Viewed 1023 times since Fri, Sep 16, 2011
Pressure Ulcers
Viewed 1333 times since Fri, May 6, 2011
Altered Mental Status Followed by Two Definitive Etiologies - Inpatient
Viewed 2854 times since Thu, Mar 10, 2011
Vacuum Attempt During Delivery
Viewed 1470 times since Tue, Apr 26, 2011
Trunk Piercing
Viewed 610 times since Wed, Jan 30, 2013
Chest Pain
Viewed 1843 times since Wed, Sep 21, 2011
Using V70 as the Primary Dx
Viewed 1782 times since Thu, Jun 30, 2011
Newborn with Circumsion
Viewed 13558 times since Thu, Nov 8, 2012
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506