Home » Categories » ICD-9-CM Coding

Coding Osteoporosis and Osteopenia


Question

When a diagnosis of osteoporosis and osteopenia are found on a bone density study, is it appropriate to code both findings, or just the osteoporosis since it is the most severe finding?

Answer

There is no coding guideline or instruction that indicates that both cannot be coded however, you are correct that osteopenia is considered a precursor to osteoporosis and that osteoporosis is considered a disease process while osteopenia is considered a condition therefore the osteoporosis is the more severe finding.  Whether you decide to code both will be your decision.  You may also want to develop an internal coding policy if you decide not to code the osteopenia in the presence of osteoarthritis so that there will be no question if this issue comes up on an internal or external coding review.

Disclaimer: All articles intended for general consumption only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Fracture
Viewed 992 times since Sat, Nov 26, 2011
Adenoma vs Adenocarcinoma
Viewed 1883 times since Thu, Jun 23, 2011
Pediatric vs Adult BMI
Viewed 2338 times since Wed, May 4, 2011
Sepsis secondary to line infection and pneumonia
Viewed 4449 times since Tue, Dec 27, 2011
Abdominal Pain Versus Pelvic Pain
Viewed 4608 times since Thu, Mar 31, 2011
Chronically Elevated HCG
Viewed 4337 times since Thu, Apr 21, 2011
Meniscus Tear
Viewed 1811 times since Mon, Jun 27, 2011
Oversewing a Ruptured Ovarian Cyst
Viewed 4078 times since Thu, Feb 17, 2011
Aspiration Pneumonia with Sepsis
Viewed 5804 times since Wed, Nov 17, 2010
Influenza A
Viewed 2122 times since Fri, Feb 18, 2011
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506