Home » Categories » ICD-9-CM Coding

Coding Osteoporosis and Osteopenia


Question

When a diagnosis of osteoporosis and osteopenia are found on a bone density study, is it appropriate to code both findings, or just the osteoporosis since it is the most severe finding?

Answer

There is no coding guideline or instruction that indicates that both cannot be coded however, you are correct that osteopenia is considered a precursor to osteoporosis and that osteoporosis is considered a disease process while osteopenia is considered a condition therefore the osteoporosis is the more severe finding.  Whether you decide to code both will be your decision.  You may also want to develop an internal coding policy if you decide not to code the osteopenia in the presence of osteoarthritis so that there will be no question if this issue comes up on an internal or external coding review.

Disclaimer: All articles intended for general consumption only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Acute Renal Insufficiency with Renal Failure
Viewed 1476 times since Mon, Jul 18, 2011
Recurrent Subdural Hematoma
Viewed 3675 times since Wed, Oct 12, 2011
Ostomy Complication
Viewed 4292 times since Wed, Nov 17, 2010
Meniscus Tear
Viewed 1597 times since Mon, Jun 27, 2011
Myelodysplastic syndrome
Viewed 2542 times since Mon, May 2, 2011
Anemia of Chronic Disease
Viewed 1465 times since Thu, Sep 15, 2011
Encephalopathy
Viewed 2593 times since Tue, Apr 12, 2011
Outpatient Surgery To OBS
Viewed 906 times since Thu, Oct 6, 2011
Defibrillator Activation
Viewed 5220 times since Tue, Apr 3, 2012
Coding Supplemental Oxygen
Viewed 2142 times since Wed, Apr 6, 2011
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506