Home » Categories » ICD-9-CM Coding

Coding Osteoporosis and Osteopenia


Question

When a diagnosis of osteoporosis and osteopenia are found on a bone density study, is it appropriate to code both findings, or just the osteoporosis since it is the most severe finding?

Answer

There is no coding guideline or instruction that indicates that both cannot be coded however, you are correct that osteopenia is considered a precursor to osteoporosis and that osteoporosis is considered a disease process while osteopenia is considered a condition therefore the osteoporosis is the more severe finding.  Whether you decide to code both will be your decision.  You may also want to develop an internal coding policy if you decide not to code the osteopenia in the presence of osteoarthritis so that there will be no question if this issue comes up on an internal or external coding review.

Disclaimer: All articles intended for general consumption only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
ICD-9 code Periampullary diverticulum
Viewed 5075 times since Tue, Sep 20, 2011
Remission vs History
Viewed 6321 times since Tue, Oct 4, 2011
Acute Lumbar Back Pain
Viewed 1878 times since Thu, Feb 23, 2012
Pelvic Inflammatory Mass Etiology
Viewed 988 times since Tue, Oct 30, 2012
Accelerated Hypertension
Viewed 3895 times since Wed, Mar 9, 2011
Low Potassium
Viewed 3535 times since Tue, Aug 23, 2011
Nasal Packing
Viewed 187 times since Mon, Apr 18, 2011
Laparoscopic Hysterectomies
Viewed 1517 times since Thu, Apr 7, 2011
Rhomboid Sprain Diagnosis
Viewed 3719 times since Fri, Dec 16, 2011
Myocardial Infarction Initial vs. Subsequent
Viewed 5720 times since Tue, Nov 16, 2010
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506