Home » Categories » CPT Surgery/APC Coding

Dental Block


Question

Does the code 64400 include the Inferior Alveolar Nerve, I see in Article 247 2/11/11 it lists the Superior Alveolar however, I am looking for the code for the Inferior Alveolar Nerve Block.

Answer

64400 captures a nerve block of the trigeminal nerve, any division or branch.  The inferior alveolar nerve is a branch of the mandibular nerve which is the 3rd branch of the trigeminal nerve.  64400 appears to be the correct code for a nerve block of the inferior alveolar nerve.

Disclaimer: All articles intended for general consumption only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Loop Colostomy
Viewed 14714 times since Wed, Mar 9, 2011
Gastrostomy Tube Replacement
Viewed 25362 times since Thu, Jan 27, 2011
Modifier 25
Viewed 2794 times since Mon, May 14, 2012
CPT code 20610 vs. G0260 vs 27096
Viewed 5565 times since Tue, Apr 26, 2011
Coronary Angiography
Viewed 2823 times since Wed, Feb 16, 2011
Modifier 58
Viewed 1893 times since Fri, Aug 26, 2011
When To Charge Fluoroscopy (76000) With an OR Procedure
Viewed 17123 times since Mon, Dec 20, 2010
Dislocation Reduction of Tarsometatarsal
Viewed 2100 times since Tue, Dec 21, 2010
Treatment Patella FX
Viewed 4362 times since Thu, May 3, 2012
Identification Of Bilateral Transforaminal Epidural Injections-64483
Viewed 3157 times since Thu, Feb 3, 2011
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506