Home » Categories » CPT Surgery/APC Coding

Dental Block


Question

Does the code 64400 include the Inferior Alveolar Nerve, I see in Article 247 2/11/11 it lists the Superior Alveolar however, I am looking for the code for the Inferior Alveolar Nerve Block.

Answer

64400 captures a nerve block of the trigeminal nerve, any division or branch.  The inferior alveolar nerve is a branch of the mandibular nerve which is the 3rd branch of the trigeminal nerve.  64400 appears to be the correct code for a nerve block of the inferior alveolar nerve.

Disclaimer: All articles intended for general consumption only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Modifier PT for Colonoscopies
Viewed 3977 times since Tue, Mar 8, 2011
PICC Line Removal
Viewed 9286 times since Thu, Dec 2, 2010
Ultrasound Guided Fine Needle Aspiration and Core BX
Viewed 10634 times since Mon, Apr 25, 2011
Transfusion
Viewed 74 times since Tue, Mar 29, 2011
Trigger Finger Reduction
Viewed 1845 times since Tue, Nov 16, 2010
Cardioversion
Viewed 2313 times since Fri, Aug 17, 2012
Transbronchial bx Modifier Issue
Viewed 3710 times since Tue, Jan 10, 2012
Gastrostomy Tube Replacement
Viewed 34491 times since Thu, Jan 27, 2011
Arterial Puncture Charge
Viewed 4913 times since Mon, May 28, 2012
Modifier PT & 33
Viewed 4043 times since Thu, May 12, 2011
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506