Home » Categories » CPT Surgery/APC Coding

Dental Block


Question

Does the code 64400 include the Inferior Alveolar Nerve, I see in Article 247 2/11/11 it lists the Superior Alveolar however, I am looking for the code for the Inferior Alveolar Nerve Block.

Answer

64400 captures a nerve block of the trigeminal nerve, any division or branch.  The inferior alveolar nerve is a branch of the mandibular nerve which is the 3rd branch of the trigeminal nerve.  64400 appears to be the correct code for a nerve block of the inferior alveolar nerve.

Disclaimer: All articles intended for general consumption only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Removal of Suture in Vagina
Viewed 6088 times since Thu, Apr 21, 2011
TAP (Transverse abdominus plane) Nerve Block
Viewed 10255 times since Mon, Mar 21, 2011
PICC Line Insertion
Viewed 7484 times since Wed, Nov 23, 2011
Medical Nutrition Therapy
Viewed 1742 times since Thu, Dec 9, 2010
Drainage Tube Removal
Viewed 4086 times since Mon, May 2, 2011
PICC Line Removal
Viewed 8118 times since Thu, Dec 2, 2010
Total Hip Arthroplasty After Closed Reduction with Percutaneous Pinning
Viewed 3386 times since Thu, May 5, 2011
98925-98929
Viewed 2528 times since Fri, Sep 16, 2011
Modifier PT and Medicare
Viewed 3305 times since Mon, Sep 19, 2011
Screening Colonoscopy with a Hemorrhoidectomy
Viewed 2878 times since Thu, Sep 8, 2011
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506