Home » Categories » CPT Surgery/APC Coding

Dental Blocks


Question

We have patients that come in for tooth pain and a dental block is done. Sometimes it is documented as aleveolar block and sometimes it is documented as infraorbital block. We are not sure what the correct CPT code would be. We were using 64400 but would this just be facial block 64402?

Answer

Dental blocks would be coded to 64400-Trigeminal nerve.  The maxillary nerve is a branch of the trigeminal nerve and includes the posterior superior alveolar nerve, middle superior alveolar nerve and anterior superior alveolar nerves.  These are the nerves that are focused when performing a dental block.  When these blocks are performed there may be some anesthesia effect on other nerves, mostly those of the chin and lip. 


Disclaimer: All articles intended for general consumption only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.

Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Outpatient Procedure Charging
Viewed 1420 times since Thu, Oct 20, 2011
Coding Intrathecal Pain Pump
Viewed 5153 times since Fri, Jun 24, 2011
Apligraf Application CPT Coding
Viewed 5661 times since Tue, Oct 11, 2011
Identification Of Bilateral Transforaminal Epidural Injections-64483
Viewed 3974 times since Thu, Feb 3, 2011
Coronary Angiography
Viewed 3496 times since Wed, Feb 16, 2011
Cysto at Time of Laparoscopic Vag Hyst
Viewed 3892 times since Wed, Jun 15, 2011
Screening vs. Diagnostic Colonoscopy
Viewed 5070 times since Wed, Jul 27, 2011
Removal of Pin
Viewed 1038 times since Fri, Aug 17, 2012
Tatooing
Viewed 948 times since Wed, Jun 20, 2012
Arterial Puncture Charge
Viewed 5144 times since Mon, May 28, 2012
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506