Home » Categories » CPT Surgery/APC Coding

Dental Blocks


Question

We have patients that come in for tooth pain and a dental block is done. Sometimes it is documented as aleveolar block and sometimes it is documented as infraorbital block. We are not sure what the correct CPT code would be. We were using 64400 but would this just be facial block 64402?

Answer

Dental blocks would be coded to 64400-Trigeminal nerve.  The maxillary nerve is a branch of the trigeminal nerve and includes the posterior superior alveolar nerve, middle superior alveolar nerve and anterior superior alveolar nerves.  These are the nerves that are focused when performing a dental block.  When these blocks are performed there may be some anesthesia effect on other nerves, mostly those of the chin and lip. 


Disclaimer: All articles intended for general consumption only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.

Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Injection for G Tube Placement
Viewed 6974 times since Wed, Jul 27, 2011
Debridement of Bursa
Viewed 5194 times since Tue, Nov 16, 2010
EGD with Foreign Body Removal Esophagus
Viewed 7102 times since Thu, Apr 21, 2011
Apligraf Application CPT Coding
Viewed 5051 times since Tue, Oct 11, 2011
Chondroplasty and Meniscectomy
Viewed 5643 times since Tue, Mar 12, 2013
Gastrostomy
Viewed 14342 times since Thu, Sep 8, 2011
Transfusion
Viewed 74 times since Tue, Mar 29, 2011
Port-a-cath Flush And Facility Fee Same Day
Viewed 6883 times since Sat, Jul 2, 2011
Fluoro & Injection to Check Port
Viewed 10114 times since Sat, Mar 19, 2011
Port Placement with Chest Xray
Viewed 2981 times since Thu, Mar 31, 2011
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506