Home » Categories » CPT Surgery/APC Coding

Dental Blocks


Question

We have patients that come in for tooth pain and a dental block is done. Sometimes it is documented as aleveolar block and sometimes it is documented as infraorbital block. We are not sure what the correct CPT code would be. We were using 64400 but would this just be facial block 64402?

Answer

Dental blocks would be coded to 64400-Trigeminal nerve.  The maxillary nerve is a branch of the trigeminal nerve and includes the posterior superior alveolar nerve, middle superior alveolar nerve and anterior superior alveolar nerves.  These are the nerves that are focused when performing a dental block.  When these blocks are performed there may be some anesthesia effect on other nerves, mostly those of the chin and lip. 


Disclaimer: All articles intended for general consumption only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.

Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
PICC Line Insertion
Viewed 7618 times since Wed, Nov 23, 2011
Tatooing
Viewed 764 times since Wed, Jun 20, 2012
Commercial Ins Plans and G0121
Viewed 3575 times since Tue, Jan 25, 2011
Outpatient Procedure Charging
Viewed 1259 times since Thu, Oct 20, 2011
CPT Coding Ligation/Cauterization Corpus Luteum
Viewed 2838 times since Thu, Aug 4, 2011
Injection for G Tube Placement
Viewed 6406 times since Wed, Jul 27, 2011
Edits on Billing Software from Mediport Placement
Viewed 3381 times since Thu, Feb 14, 2013
Extremity Venous Studies
Viewed 1674 times since Fri, Mar 2, 2012
Removal of Suture in Vagina
Viewed 6214 times since Thu, Apr 21, 2011
What is Considered Conscious Sedation
Viewed 4647 times since Mon, Apr 25, 2011
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506