Home » Categories » CPT Surgery/APC Coding

Dental Blocks


Question

We have patients that come in for tooth pain and a dental block is done. Sometimes it is documented as aleveolar block and sometimes it is documented as infraorbital block. We are not sure what the correct CPT code would be. We were using 64400 but would this just be facial block 64402?

Answer

Dental blocks would be coded to 64400-Trigeminal nerve.  The maxillary nerve is a branch of the trigeminal nerve and includes the posterior superior alveolar nerve, middle superior alveolar nerve and anterior superior alveolar nerves.  These are the nerves that are focused when performing a dental block.  When these blocks are performed there may be some anesthesia effect on other nerves, mostly those of the chin and lip. 


Disclaimer: All articles intended for general consumption only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.

Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Discontinued Colonoscopy
Viewed 2681 times since Thu, Dec 2, 2010
Coding Intrathecal Pain Pump
Viewed 3755 times since Fri, Jun 24, 2011
Replacement of neurostimulator pulse generator
Viewed 1663 times since Thu, Apr 14, 2011
Modifier 74 for Colonoscopy
Viewed 2452 times since Tue, Dec 27, 2011
Modifier 58
Viewed 1919 times since Fri, Aug 26, 2011
Fluoroscopy in OR
Viewed 743 times since Mon, Nov 21, 2011
Cataracts and Complications
Viewed 3701 times since Tue, Nov 16, 2010
Modifier PT and Medicare
Viewed 3282 times since Mon, Sep 19, 2011
Complication coding
Viewed 1650 times since Fri, Feb 11, 2011
Screening vs. Diagnostic Colonoscopy
Viewed 4304 times since Wed, Jul 27, 2011
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506