Home » Categories » CPT Surgery/APC Coding

Digital Nerve Block


Question

A patient came into the emergency room with a laceration of the thumb. The doctor performed a wound exploration as well as suturing the laceration. He performed a digital block for anesthesia and we have charged 64450. Is this correct? Our billing service is kicking it out.

Answer

Nerve blocks that are performed to provide anesthesia for a separately codable service are not separately billable or codable.  It is only when the physician specifically indicates that the nerve block is performed for post operative pain control that it be billed with another procedure.  Of course when the patient comes in for a nerve block for pain control it is acceptable to code it.

Disclaimer: All articles intended for general consumption only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Surveillance Colonoscopy
Viewed 6418 times since Mon, Aug 1, 2011
Platelet Rich Plasma Injection with Total Knees
Viewed 2170 times since Thu, May 12, 2011
L3260 Heel Wedge Shoe
Viewed 2604 times since Wed, Dec 21, 2011
Bilateral Hip Injections
Viewed 1116 times since Mon, Nov 19, 2012
CPT Coding Ligation/Cauterization Corpus Luteum
Viewed 3358 times since Thu, Aug 4, 2011
Excision Breast Tissue
Viewed 5822 times since Fri, Mar 25, 2011
Coding Intrathecal Pain Pump
Viewed 4893 times since Fri, Jun 24, 2011
Transbronchial bx Modifier Issue
Viewed 3746 times since Tue, Jan 10, 2012
Non-Incisional Foreign Body Removal
Viewed 4655 times since Tue, Sep 25, 2012
Laparotomy With Repair Of Colovesicular Fistula
Viewed 4436 times since Tue, Jun 28, 2011
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506