Home » Categories » CPT Surgery/APC Coding

Digital Nerve Block


Question

A patient came into the emergency room with a laceration of the thumb. The doctor performed a wound exploration as well as suturing the laceration. He performed a digital block for anesthesia and we have charged 64450. Is this correct? Our billing service is kicking it out.

Answer

Nerve blocks that are performed to provide anesthesia for a separately codable service are not separately billable or codable.  It is only when the physician specifically indicates that the nerve block is performed for post operative pain control that it be billed with another procedure.  Of course when the patient comes in for a nerve block for pain control it is acceptable to code it.

Disclaimer: All articles intended for general consumption only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Modifier PT for Colonoscopies
Viewed 3691 times since Tue, Mar 8, 2011
Manual Reduction of Hernia
Viewed 5697 times since Thu, May 19, 2011
Nasal Packing, Initial or Subsequent
Viewed 6643 times since Fri, Jul 22, 2011
Discontinued Colonoscopy
Viewed 2678 times since Thu, Dec 2, 2010
Gastrostomy
Viewed 12677 times since Thu, Sep 8, 2011
Port Placement with Chest Xray
Viewed 2809 times since Thu, Mar 31, 2011
Complication coding
Viewed 1648 times since Fri, Feb 11, 2011
Modifier 58
Viewed 1916 times since Fri, Aug 26, 2011
Modifier PT
Viewed 191 times since Fri, Jun 24, 2011
Hernia Repairs
Viewed 8642 times since Tue, Nov 16, 2010
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506