Home » Categories » CPT Surgery/APC Coding

Digital Nerve Block


Question

A patient came into the emergency room with a laceration of the thumb. The doctor performed a wound exploration as well as suturing the laceration. He performed a digital block for anesthesia and we have charged 64450. Is this correct? Our billing service is kicking it out.

Answer

Nerve blocks that are performed to provide anesthesia for a separately codable service are not separately billable or codable.  It is only when the physician specifically indicates that the nerve block is performed for post operative pain control that it be billed with another procedure.  Of course when the patient comes in for a nerve block for pain control it is acceptable to code it.

Disclaimer: All articles intended for general consumption only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Dental Blocks
Viewed 13776 times since Tue, Feb 8, 2011
Replacement of Pacemaker Generator
Viewed 12734 times since Thu, Mar 15, 2012
When To Charge Fluoroscopy (76000) With an OR Procedure
Viewed 18733 times since Mon, Dec 20, 2010
Screening Colonoscopy with a Hemorrhoidectomy
Viewed 2934 times since Thu, Sep 8, 2011
Evacuation of Hematoma with Ligation of Artery
Viewed 3917 times since Thu, Jun 16, 2011
Thrombus of Porcine Heart Valve
Viewed 2180 times since Tue, Nov 6, 2012
Surveillance Colonoscopy
Viewed 5860 times since Mon, Aug 1, 2011
Documentation for EGD Dilatation
Viewed 1368 times since Fri, Apr 29, 2011
Foley Catheter Placement - Outpatient Therapuetics
Viewed 4992 times since Fri, Feb 11, 2011
Manual Reduction of Hernia
Viewed 5840 times since Thu, May 19, 2011
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506