Home » Categories » CPT Surgery/APC Coding

Digital Nerve Block


Question

A patient came into the emergency room with a laceration of the thumb. The doctor performed a wound exploration as well as suturing the laceration. He performed a digital block for anesthesia and we have charged 64450. Is this correct? Our billing service is kicking it out.

Answer

Nerve blocks that are performed to provide anesthesia for a separately codable service are not separately billable or codable.  It is only when the physician specifically indicates that the nerve block is performed for post operative pain control that it be billed with another procedure.  Of course when the patient comes in for a nerve block for pain control it is acceptable to code it.

Disclaimer: All articles intended for general consumption only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Comments Comments
There are no comments for this article. Be the first to post a comment.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Transfusion
Viewed 73 times since Tue, Mar 29, 2011
Venous Access Device
Viewed 519 times since Wed, Dec 26, 2012
Post Central Line Insertion Chest X Ray
Viewed 3633 times since Wed, Feb 23, 2011
Gastrostomy
Viewed 6441 times since Thu, Sep 8, 2011
Ports
Viewed 890 times since Tue, Jul 12, 2011
Replacement of neurostimulator pulse generator
Viewed 1425 times since Thu, Apr 14, 2011
G0260
Viewed 1617 times since Thu, May 3, 2012
FB eye with rust ring removal CPT
Viewed 3144 times since Thu, Mar 17, 2011
Lithotripsy for Multiple Stones
Viewed 1397 times since Tue, Nov 16, 2010
Colonoscopy with Poor/Inadequate Prep
Viewed 4129 times since Thu, Jun 7, 2012
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506