Home » Categories » CPT Surgery/APC Coding

Digital Nerve Block


Question

A patient came into the emergency room with a laceration of the thumb. The doctor performed a wound exploration as well as suturing the laceration. He performed a digital block for anesthesia and we have charged 64450. Is this correct? Our billing service is kicking it out.

Answer

Nerve blocks that are performed to provide anesthesia for a separately codable service are not separately billable or codable.  It is only when the physician specifically indicates that the nerve block is performed for post operative pain control that it be billed with another procedure.  Of course when the patient comes in for a nerve block for pain control it is acceptable to code it.

Disclaimer: All articles intended for general consumption only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Excision Breast Tissue
Viewed 5894 times since Fri, Mar 25, 2011
Modifier 74 for Colonoscopy
Viewed 2747 times since Tue, Dec 27, 2011
Removal of Pin
Viewed 1016 times since Fri, Aug 17, 2012
Aspiration of Peritonsillar Abscess
Viewed 5195 times since Tue, Jul 12, 2011
CPT for Therapeutic Phlebotomy
Viewed 6426 times since Thu, Feb 9, 2012
Hernia and Appendectomy Performed
Viewed 9232 times since Wed, Feb 15, 2012
Excision Subcutaneous Mass-Left Upper Arm.
Viewed 15470 times since Fri, Jan 21, 2011
Hip Core Decompression
Viewed 4542 times since Sun, Nov 14, 2010
Lumbar Punture by Radiologist
Viewed 12578 times since Tue, Nov 27, 2012
CPT Coding
Viewed 160 times since Fri, Aug 19, 2011
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506