Home » Categories » CPT Surgery/APC Coding

Drainage Tube Removal


Question

I work in a family practice office and my Doctor removed a drainage tube that was placed in a patient at the Mayo Clinic. The drain tube was from a surgery due to colon and part of samll bowel removed. Is this a procedure or and office visit?

Answer

Based on your description and the fact that the tube was not removed by incision or with the assistance of endoscopy, there is no procedure code option and this service should be factored into the appropriate E&M level.

Disclaimer: All articles intended for general consumption only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Modifier PT & 33
Viewed 3796 times since Thu, May 12, 2011
Colonoscopy with Poor/Inadequate Prep
Viewed 6501 times since Thu, Jun 7, 2012
IUD Removal
Viewed 6538 times since Wed, Jun 15, 2011
Documentation for EGD Dilatation
Viewed 1336 times since Fri, Apr 29, 2011
Total Hip Arthroplasty After Closed Reduction with Percutaneous Pinning
Viewed 3346 times since Thu, May 5, 2011
Colonoscopy With Removal of Lesion
Viewed 3715 times since Tue, Nov 16, 2010
Evacuation of Hematoma with Ligation of Artery
Viewed 3755 times since Thu, Jun 16, 2011
Hip Core Decompression
Viewed 4146 times since Sun, Nov 14, 2010
Surveillance Colonoscopy
Viewed 5601 times since Mon, Aug 1, 2011
Replacement of Pacemaker Generator
Viewed 12472 times since Thu, Mar 15, 2012
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506