Home » Categories » ICD-9-CM Coding

Echocardiogram Prior to Chemo


Question

Patient is scheduled for echocardiogram prior to starting chemotherapy. The physicain writes "preop chemotherapy evaluation". Is the correct code V72.83 or V72.85? The code book actually has pre-chemo listed in the code description under V72.83, but a similar question asked to QHR gives V72.85 as the correct code. Please advise.

Answer

Even though V72.83 includes the term "examination prior to chemotherapy" a 2004 Coding Clinic, 1st quarter, pg 12/13 which mirrors your question indicates that it should be coded to V72.85.  Having said that, the alphabetic index does take you to V72.83 for an examination prior to chemotherapy.  Based on the alphabetic index it would appear that V72.83 is the correct code assignment.


Disclaimer: All articles intended for general consumption only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.


Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Pressure Ulcers
Viewed 1295 times since Fri, May 6, 2011
Knee Fracture
Viewed 2920 times since Wed, Nov 17, 2010
Aborted Inpatient procedure
Viewed 5314 times since Fri, Nov 11, 2011
Questionable Terms
Viewed 888 times since Mon, Aug 22, 2011
Chronically Elevated HCG
Viewed 3758 times since Thu, Apr 21, 2011
Debridements
Viewed 1089 times since Wed, May 11, 2011
Laparoscopic Hysterectomies
Viewed 1445 times since Thu, Apr 7, 2011
Coma with CVA
Viewed 1760 times since Tue, Jun 28, 2011
Defibrillator Firing
Viewed 3892 times since Thu, Dec 2, 2010
Chest Pain
Viewed 1765 times since Wed, Sep 21, 2011
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506