Home » Categories » CPT Surgery/APC Coding

EGD with Dilation


Question

CPT question of egd with dilation, doctor dictates "on withdrawl a TTS dilator was passed thru scope. Dilation with 12-13 CRG balloon dilator was performed....charged is cpt 43248 and 43249 and bx 43239 (bx was done)but why 43248?

Answer

Actually, this procedure should probably be coded to 43248 and 43239.  Depending on the type of through the scope (TTS) dilator used, the dilator may include a guidewire. If it does, 43248 should be reported for the placement of the guidewire and dilation.  Boston Scientific makes a TTS dilator that includes a guidewire.  If a guidewire was not used, the correct codes would be 43249 and 43239.  Reporting of both 43248 and 43249 is incorrect since you would be coding the esophageal dilation twice.

Disclaimer: All articles intended for general consumption only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
One Inch Laceration
Viewed 2247 times since Fri, May 27, 2011
Discontinued Colonoscopy
Viewed 2612 times since Thu, Dec 2, 2010
Loop Colostomy
Viewed 14281 times since Wed, Mar 9, 2011
Port-a-cath Flush And Facility Fee Same Day
Viewed 5135 times since Sat, Jul 2, 2011
Complication coding
Viewed 1605 times since Fri, Feb 11, 2011
Trigger Finger Reduction
Viewed 1515 times since Tue, Nov 16, 2010
Apligraf Application CPT Coding
Viewed 4474 times since Tue, Oct 11, 2011
Medical Nutrition Therapy
Viewed 1660 times since Thu, Dec 9, 2010
Injection for G Tube Placement
Viewed 5734 times since Wed, Jul 27, 2011
Modifier -33 and -PT
Viewed 2638 times since Wed, May 4, 2011
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506