Home » Categories » CPT Surgery/APC Coding

EGD with Dilation


CPT question of egd with dilation, doctor dictates "on withdrawl a TTS dilator was passed thru scope. Dilation with 12-13 CRG balloon dilator was performed....charged is cpt 43248 and 43249 and bx 43239 (bx was done)but why 43248?


Actually, this procedure should probably be coded to 43248 and 43239.  Depending on the type of through the scope (TTS) dilator used, the dilator may include a guidewire. If it does, 43248 should be reported for the placement of the guidewire and dilation.  Boston Scientific makes a TTS dilator that includes a guidewire.  If a guidewire was not used, the correct codes would be 43249 and 43239.  Reporting of both 43248 and 43249 is incorrect since you would be coding the esophageal dilation twice.

Disclaimer: All articles intended for general consumption only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Cysto with ESWL
Viewed 4213 times since Thu, May 26, 2011
Incomplete Colonoscopy
Viewed 4625 times since Thu, Oct 20, 2011
Bilateral Hip Injections
Viewed 1264 times since Mon, Nov 19, 2012
Conscious Sedation
Viewed 8 times since Tue, Nov 16, 2010
Screening vs. Diagnostic Colonoscopy
Viewed 5672 times since Wed, Jul 27, 2011
Viewed 2765 times since Fri, Aug 17, 2012
Arterial Puncture
Viewed 10039 times since Wed, Dec 26, 2012
L3260 Heel Wedge Shoe
Viewed 2910 times since Wed, Dec 21, 2011
Excision Subcutaneous Mass-Left Upper Arm.
Viewed 17834 times since Fri, Jan 21, 2011
Commercial Ins Plans and G0121
Viewed 4278 times since Tue, Jan 25, 2011
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506