Home » Categories » CPT Surgery/APC Coding

EGD with Dilation


Question

CPT question of egd with dilation, doctor dictates "on withdrawl a TTS dilator was passed thru scope. Dilation with 12-13 CRG balloon dilator was performed....charged is cpt 43248 and 43249 and bx 43239 (bx was done)but why 43248?

Answer

Actually, this procedure should probably be coded to 43248 and 43239.  Depending on the type of through the scope (TTS) dilator used, the dilator may include a guidewire. If it does, 43248 should be reported for the placement of the guidewire and dilation.  Boston Scientific makes a TTS dilator that includes a guidewire.  If a guidewire was not used, the correct codes would be 43249 and 43239.  Reporting of both 43248 and 43249 is incorrect since you would be coding the esophageal dilation twice.

Disclaimer: All articles intended for general consumption only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
98925-98929
Viewed 2820 times since Fri, Sep 16, 2011
Modifier 58
Viewed 1977 times since Fri, Aug 26, 2011
Modifier 74 for Colonoscopy
Viewed 2619 times since Tue, Dec 27, 2011
Ports
Viewed 5838 times since Tue, Jul 12, 2011
Dislocation Reduction of Tarsometatarsal
Viewed 2478 times since Tue, Dec 21, 2010
Drainage Tube Removal
Viewed 4471 times since Mon, May 2, 2011
PICC Line Removal
Viewed 8668 times since Thu, Dec 2, 2010
Modifier PT and Medicare
Viewed 3504 times since Mon, Sep 19, 2011
Modifier PT
Viewed 191 times since Fri, Jun 24, 2011
Cancelled Surgery-Failed intubation
Viewed 3009 times since Tue, May 3, 2011
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506