Home » Categories » ICD-9-CM Coding

Elevated Liver Function Test


Question

We have physicians ordering "hepatitis panel" CPT 80074 and providing a diagnosis of "elevated LFT’s".  Can you tell the appropriate ICD-9 code for this description? Is it more appropriate to code "790.6" Abnormal Blood Chemistry" or 794.8 "Non-specific abnormal results of function study of the liver"?

Answer

790.6 is the correct code.  Category 794 is for nuclear medicine studies.

Disclaimer: All articles intended for general guidance only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Oversewing a Ruptured Ovarian Cyst
Viewed 4000 times since Thu, Feb 17, 2011
Lack of Normal Physiological Development
Viewed 2313 times since Wed, Oct 26, 2011
BAROTRAUMA
Viewed 1267 times since Fri, Jul 1, 2011
Abdominal and Pelvic Pain
Viewed 1019 times since Tue, Aug 23, 2011
Echocardiogram Prior to Chemo
Viewed 5915 times since Tue, Jun 7, 2011
Late Effects Codes For Fracture
Viewed 3479 times since Tue, Feb 15, 2011
Knee Fracture
Viewed 3276 times since Wed, Nov 17, 2010
Pap Smear ICD-9 Coding
Viewed 3516 times since Fri, May 4, 2012
Nasal Packing
Viewed 187 times since Mon, Apr 18, 2011
Multi-system Organ Failure
Viewed 5142 times since Mon, Feb 14, 2011
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506