Home » Categories » ICD-9-CM Coding

Elevated Liver Function Test


Question

We have physicians ordering "hepatitis panel" CPT 80074 and providing a diagnosis of "elevated LFT’s".  Can you tell the appropriate ICD-9 code for this description? Is it more appropriate to code "790.6" Abnormal Blood Chemistry" or 794.8 "Non-specific abnormal results of function study of the liver"?

Answer

790.6 is the correct code.  Category 794 is for nuclear medicine studies.

Disclaimer: All articles intended for general guidance only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Wound Care
Viewed 1180 times since Thu, Apr 14, 2011
Current Cancer versus History of Cancer Dx
Viewed 2249 times since Mon, Apr 25, 2011
Documentation on X-ray Report
Viewed 920 times since Fri, May 13, 2011
Asthma and Allergic Rhinitis
Viewed 5339 times since Sat, May 28, 2011
Lack of Normal Physiological Development
Viewed 2233 times since Wed, Oct 26, 2011
Oversewing a Ruptured Ovarian Cyst
Viewed 3538 times since Thu, Feb 17, 2011
Incidental Findings
Viewed 2538 times since Fri, Apr 22, 2011
BMI
Viewed 110 times since Thu, Jan 20, 2011
Trunk Piercing
Viewed 588 times since Wed, Jan 30, 2013
Infected Ulcer of the Leg
Viewed 3970 times since Wed, Nov 17, 2010
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506