Home » Categories » ICD-9-CM Coding

Elevated Liver Function Test


Question

We have physicians ordering "hepatitis panel" CPT 80074 and providing a diagnosis of "elevated LFT’s".  Can you tell the appropriate ICD-9 code for this description? Is it more appropriate to code "790.6" Abnormal Blood Chemistry" or 794.8 "Non-specific abnormal results of function study of the liver"?

Answer

790.6 is the correct code.  Category 794 is for nuclear medicine studies.

Disclaimer: All articles intended for general guidance only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
BAROTRAUMA
Viewed 1539 times since Fri, Jul 1, 2011
Surgery For FB Foot Nothing Found
Viewed 1578 times since Thu, Apr 28, 2011
Spine Coding
Viewed 50 times since Wed, Oct 12, 2011
Family History vs Screening Colonscopy
Viewed 1243 times since Tue, May 8, 2012
Pap Smear ICD-9 Coding
Viewed 4337 times since Fri, May 4, 2012
MUGA Scan Prior to Chemotherapy
Viewed 7298 times since Tue, Nov 16, 2010
Xigris Reporting
Viewed 1725 times since Wed, Nov 17, 2010
Viabahn Endograft
Viewed 3270 times since Mon, Apr 11, 2011
Outpatient Documentation
Viewed 1226 times since Thu, Jul 19, 2012
Sun Poisoning
Viewed 2109 times since Thu, Jul 28, 2011
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506