Home » Categories » CPT Surgery/APC Coding

FB eye with rust ring removal CPT


Question

Patient came into ER with foreign body in eye. The physician removed a foreign body from the eye with a needle, then removed the rust ring with an ophthalmic burr. Is this coded as 65220 (Removal of foreign body without slit lamp) or 65435?

Answer

Per CPT Assistant, December 2009, pg 12/13, the removal of a rust ring would be coded to either 65220 Removal of foreign body, external eye corneal without slit lamp or 65222-Removal of foreign body, external eye corneal with slit lamp.

Disclaimer: All articles intended for general consumption only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Replacement of neurostimulator pulse generator
Viewed 1858 times since Thu, Apr 14, 2011
Modifier -33 and -PT
Viewed 3036 times since Wed, May 4, 2011
Laparotomy With Repair Of Colovesicular Fistula
Viewed 4208 times since Tue, Jun 28, 2011
Ports
Viewed 5871 times since Tue, Jul 12, 2011
Strapping
Viewed 861 times since Fri, Nov 2, 2012
Identification Of Bilateral Transforaminal Epidural Injections-64483
Viewed 3628 times since Thu, Feb 3, 2011
Non-Incisional Foreign Body Removal
Viewed 4357 times since Tue, Sep 25, 2012
Thrombus of Porcine Heart Valve
Viewed 2353 times since Tue, Nov 6, 2012
PICC Line Insertion
Viewed 8232 times since Wed, Nov 23, 2011
Bariatric Procedures
Viewed 1759 times since Wed, Apr 6, 2011
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506