Home » Categories » Laboratory Coding

General Health Panel Code 80050


Question

Can we charge CPT 80053, 85025, and 84443 separately even though the General Health Panel (80050) includes these tests?  Medicare will not reimburse for the GHP, but if we charge them separately, would this be considered "unbundling?"

Answer

Medicare does not use code 80050.  The reason it’s not used is because Medicare can not set appropriate reimbursement since the code can contain different items. It can include 85027 or 85027 and 85004 or 85027 and 85007 or 85009.  Because each of these codes has a different reimbursement amount, Medicare can’t set a total price for the panel.  You must bill the components separately.

Disclaimer: All articles intended for general guidance only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Nuclear Matrix Protein 22
Viewed 835 times since Wed, Sep 12, 2012
Different Charges for Same CPT Code in Reflex Tests
Viewed 1593 times since Wed, May 16, 2012
Glucose Monitoring
Viewed 1803 times since Thu, Jan 6, 2011
86580 TB Skin Test
Viewed 10521 times since Fri, Feb 11, 2011
Fingerstick Charging
Viewed 1744 times since Tue, Apr 26, 2011
CPT code 87177 and 87015
Viewed 3434 times since Sat, Dec 10, 2011
# of Units Rejecting
Viewed 3742 times since Fri, Sep 30, 2011
HSV IGG 86694 Modifier Assistance
Viewed 2592 times since Sat, Mar 5, 2011
STAT Lab Test
Viewed 5160 times since Wed, Nov 17, 2010
Lab Charges With Edit Not Allowed
Viewed 2344 times since Wed, Sep 14, 2011
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506