Home » Categories » ICD-9-CM Coding

Hypothyroidism with hyperthyroidism?


Question

Patient with hypothyroidism on Synthroid came into ER with tingling sensation. Physician diagnosed patient with anxiety and hyperthyroidism. The TSH level was 0.04. The physician only mentions that patient should call when arriving home with dosage of synthroid so that the physician could call in a lower dose of thyroid medication. Is it possible to have hypothyroidism and hyperthyroidism? Should I query the physician? 

Answer

I would query the physician.  If the physician is planning to reduce the dosage of synthroid it sound like an overmedication issue which I would not consider hyperthyroidism.


Disclaimer: All articles intended for general consumption only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Headache
Viewed 1485 times since Fri, Oct 14, 2011
Accelerated Hypertension
Viewed 3774 times since Wed, Mar 9, 2011
Coding CLL and NHL
Viewed 1723 times since Tue, Apr 5, 2011
Coma with CVA
Viewed 2337 times since Tue, Jun 28, 2011
Rhomboid Sprain Diagnosis
Viewed 3283 times since Fri, Dec 16, 2011
Outpatient Documentation
Viewed 985 times since Thu, Jul 19, 2012
Principle Diagnosis - Colonoscopy
Viewed 1446 times since Tue, Jan 17, 2012
Encephalopathy
Viewed 2593 times since Tue, Apr 12, 2011
BMI
Viewed 110 times since Thu, Jan 20, 2011
Documentation on X-ray Report
Viewed 924 times since Fri, May 13, 2011
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506