Home » Categories » ICD-9-CM Coding

Hypothyroidism with hyperthyroidism?


Question

Patient with hypothyroidism on Synthroid came into ER with tingling sensation. Physician diagnosed patient with anxiety and hyperthyroidism. The TSH level was 0.04. The physician only mentions that patient should call when arriving home with dosage of synthroid so that the physician could call in a lower dose of thyroid medication. Is it possible to have hypothyroidism and hyperthyroidism? Should I query the physician? 

Answer

I would query the physician.  If the physician is planning to reduce the dosage of synthroid it sound like an overmedication issue which I would not consider hyperthyroidism.


Disclaimer: All articles intended for general consumption only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Post Mastectomy Pain Syndrome
Viewed 6959 times since Thu, Jun 9, 2011
Incidental Pregnancy
Viewed 5728 times since Wed, Nov 17, 2010
Hypertension and Diabetic Chronic Kidney Disease
Viewed 2911 times since Thu, May 12, 2011
Coding Supplemental Oxygen
Viewed 2552 times since Wed, Apr 6, 2011
Limbic Encephalitis Paraneoplastic Syndrome
Viewed 4122 times since Wed, Jun 15, 2011
MUGA Scan Prior to Chemotherapy
Viewed 6172 times since Tue, Nov 16, 2010
Newborn with Circumsion
Viewed 13603 times since Thu, Nov 8, 2012
Postpartum Question
Viewed 945 times since Wed, Aug 3, 2011
Oversewing a Ruptured Ovarian Cyst
Viewed 3986 times since Thu, Feb 17, 2011
Poor Venous Access
Viewed 3725 times since Wed, Dec 14, 2011
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506