Home » Categories » ICD-9-CM Coding

Hypothyroidism with hyperthyroidism?


Question

Patient with hypothyroidism on Synthroid came into ER with tingling sensation. Physician diagnosed patient with anxiety and hyperthyroidism. The TSH level was 0.04. The physician only mentions that patient should call when arriving home with dosage of synthroid so that the physician could call in a lower dose of thyroid medication. Is it possible to have hypothyroidism and hyperthyroidism? Should I query the physician? 

Answer

I would query the physician.  If the physician is planning to reduce the dosage of synthroid it sound like an overmedication issue which I would not consider hyperthyroidism.


Disclaimer: All articles intended for general consumption only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Acute vs. Chronic Rotator Cuff Tear
Viewed 8266 times since Thu, Apr 14, 2011
Abdominal and Pelvic Pain
Viewed 971 times since Tue, Aug 23, 2011
Incidental Findings
Viewed 2522 times since Fri, Apr 22, 2011
Aborted Inpatient procedure
Viewed 5396 times since Fri, Nov 11, 2011
Viabahn Endograft
Viewed 2690 times since Mon, Apr 11, 2011
Oversewing a Ruptured Ovarian Cyst
Viewed 3324 times since Thu, Feb 17, 2011
Cesarean Section
Viewed 3254 times since Tue, May 24, 2011
Surgery For FB Foot Nothing Found
Viewed 1312 times since Thu, Apr 28, 2011
Admit and Reason for Visit Codes
Viewed 1680 times since Thu, Apr 19, 2012
Metastatic Cancer Eradicated
Viewed 925 times since Wed, Dec 21, 2011
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506