Home » Categories » ICD-9-CM Coding

ICD-9 code Periampullary diverticulum


Question

What is the proper way to code a periampullary diverticulum found on an ERCP?

Answer

A periampullary diverticulum is defined as a diverticulum found on either side of the ampulla of vater, specifically within  2-3 cm of the ampulla of vater.  The ampulla of vater is located at the halfway point of the 2nd part of the duodenum and represents the point where the common bile duct and pancreatic bile duct merge together and enter the duodenum.  Because of the location of the ampulla of vater, and a code that is not specific to this area, a code for a diveriticulum of the duodendum is recommended 562.00.

Disclaimer: All articles intended for general consumption only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Altered Mental Status Followed by Two Definitive Etiologies - Inpatient
Viewed 2733 times since Thu, Mar 10, 2011
Postoperative Complications
Viewed 1000 times since Mon, Apr 25, 2011
Sarcoidosis Metastatic to Bone
Viewed 1227 times since Mon, Jun 27, 2011
Pediatric vs Adult BMI
Viewed 2113 times since Wed, May 4, 2011
Coding from Radiology Report-Clarification
Viewed 2278 times since Thu, May 19, 2011
Adenoma vs Adenocarcinoma
Viewed 1725 times since Thu, Jun 23, 2011
Bleed After Removal of Tenaculum
Viewed 660 times since Mon, Dec 31, 2012
Wound Care
Viewed 1154 times since Thu, Apr 14, 2011
Multi-system Organ Failure
Viewed 4584 times since Mon, Feb 14, 2011
Encephalopathy
Viewed 2453 times since Tue, Apr 12, 2011
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506