Home » Categories » ICD-9-CM Coding

ICD-9 code Periampullary diverticulum


Question

What is the proper way to code a periampullary diverticulum found on an ERCP?

Answer

A periampullary diverticulum is defined as a diverticulum found on either side of the ampulla of vater, specifically within  2-3 cm of the ampulla of vater.  The ampulla of vater is located at the halfway point of the 2nd part of the duodenum and represents the point where the common bile duct and pancreatic bile duct merge together and enter the duodenum.  Because of the location of the ampulla of vater, and a code that is not specific to this area, a code for a diveriticulum of the duodendum is recommended 562.00.

Disclaimer: All articles intended for general consumption only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Postpartum Question
Viewed 1082 times since Wed, Aug 3, 2011
Using V70 as the Primary Dx
Viewed 2220 times since Thu, Jun 30, 2011
Outpatient Orders
Viewed 1200 times since Thu, Jun 23, 2011
Anemia of Chronic Disease
Viewed 1806 times since Thu, Sep 15, 2011
Medicare Screening Vaginal Pap Smear
Viewed 9599 times since Tue, May 3, 2011
Viabahn Endograft
Viewed 3213 times since Mon, Apr 11, 2011
Versus Or Contrasting/Comparative Diagnosis
Viewed 1643 times since Thu, Oct 27, 2011
Premenopausal Menorrhagia
Viewed 2094 times since Tue, Mar 22, 2011
Ostomy Complication
Viewed 5516 times since Wed, Nov 17, 2010
Bone Contusion
Viewed 3662 times since Tue, Sep 6, 2011
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506