Home » Categories » ICD-9-CM Coding

Infected Ulcer of the Leg


Question

A patient comes in for lab work for "infected leg ulcer".  We could only comes up with the ulcer code.  Do/should we also report a code for the infection? 686.9 or 136.9?

Answer

The index for ICD-9 includes "Infection, skin, ulcer 707.9."  Therefore, only the 707 category code would be necessary for an infected leg ulcer.

Disclaimer: All articles intended for general guidance only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Comments Comments
There are no comments for this article. Be the first to post a comment.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Postoperative Complications
Viewed 937 times since Mon, Apr 25, 2011
Axillary Lump
Viewed 6421 times since Thu, Apr 14, 2011
Echocardiogram Prior to Chemo
Viewed 3937 times since Tue, Jun 7, 2011
Surgery For FB Foot Nothing Found
Viewed 1202 times since Thu, Apr 28, 2011
Intraoperative Bleeding- E Codes
Viewed 1547 times since Tue, Jun 14, 2011
Which of Two Diagnosis Would be Principal?
Viewed 1536 times since Tue, Aug 28, 2012
Remission vs History
Viewed 3949 times since Tue, Oct 4, 2011
Limbic Encephalitis Paraneoplastic Syndrome
Viewed 3110 times since Wed, Jun 15, 2011
Extrinsic Asthma
Viewed 1162 times since Wed, Nov 17, 2010
Aborted Inpatient procedure
Viewed 981 times since Fri, Nov 11, 2011
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506