Home » Categories » ICD-9-CM Coding

Infected Ulcer of the Leg


Question

A patient comes in for lab work for "infected leg ulcer".  We could only comes up with the ulcer code.  Do/should we also report a code for the infection? 686.9 or 136.9?

Answer

The index for ICD-9 includes "Infection, skin, ulcer 707.9."  Therefore, only the 707 category code would be necessary for an infected leg ulcer.

Disclaimer: All articles intended for general guidance only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Laparoscopy Exploratory
Viewed 3732 times since Mon, Apr 11, 2011
Aborted Inpatient procedure
Viewed 5900 times since Fri, Nov 11, 2011
Altered Mental Status Followed by Two Definitive Etiologies - Inpatient
Viewed 3270 times since Thu, Mar 10, 2011
Pallative Care
Viewed 1131 times since Sat, Apr 2, 2011
Sinobronchial Syndrome
Viewed 5600 times since Mon, Apr 25, 2011
Pulmonary Nodules and Emphysema
Viewed 4254 times since Sat, Apr 9, 2011
Fatty Infiltration of the Liver
Viewed 5219 times since Tue, Nov 1, 2011
Repeat Prescription
Viewed 4862 times since Wed, Nov 17, 2010
Pleural Effusion & Atelectasis Coding
Viewed 3467 times since Mon, Jun 13, 2011
Nasal Packing
Viewed 187 times since Mon, Apr 18, 2011
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506