Home » Categories » ICD-9-CM Coding

Infected Ulcer of the Leg


Question

A patient comes in for lab work for "infected leg ulcer".  We could only comes up with the ulcer code.  Do/should we also report a code for the infection? 686.9 or 136.9?

Answer

The index for ICD-9 includes "Infection, skin, ulcer 707.9."  Therefore, only the 707 category code would be necessary for an infected leg ulcer.

Disclaimer: All articles intended for general guidance only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Altered Mental Status Followed by Two Definitive Etiologies - Inpatient
Viewed 3400 times since Thu, Mar 10, 2011
Current Cancer versus History of Cancer Dx
Viewed 2771 times since Mon, Apr 25, 2011
Subacute
Viewed 2353 times since Fri, Apr 20, 2012
Abdominal and Pelvic Pain
Viewed 1224 times since Tue, Aug 23, 2011
Wound Care
Viewed 1462 times since Thu, Apr 14, 2011
Coding Guidelines For Symptoms
Viewed 3334 times since Thu, May 12, 2011
Perforated Cecum
Viewed 5991 times since Wed, Aug 3, 2011
Spine Coding and Spondylolisthesis
Viewed 2948 times since Thu, Oct 13, 2011
Myelodysplastic syndrome
Viewed 3443 times since Mon, May 2, 2011
Adenoma vs Adenocarcinoma
Viewed 2129 times since Thu, Jun 23, 2011
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506