Home » Categories » ICD-9-CM Coding

Pancreatic lesion


Question

What is the correct code for pancreatic lesion?

Answer

Since there is no entry under lesion for pancreas, I researched some of the options under lesion for other parts of the body to determine what code would be assigned.  It appears that this terminology codes to a disorder of the specific area therefore, my suggestion is to code this diagnosis to 577.9-Unspecified disease of the pancreas.


Disclaimer: All articles intended for general consumption only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.

Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Current Cancer versus History of Cancer Dx
Viewed 2509 times since Mon, Apr 25, 2011
Perforated Cecum
Viewed 5537 times since Wed, Aug 3, 2011
Overmedicated
Viewed 2894 times since Tue, May 10, 2011
Charcots foot
Viewed 978 times since Thu, Jul 7, 2011
Altered Mental Status Followed by Two Definitive Etiologies - Inpatient
Viewed 3077 times since Thu, Mar 10, 2011
Coding Guidelines For Symptoms
Viewed 2837 times since Thu, May 12, 2011
Two Separate Incisions to Complete Appendectomy
Viewed 4526 times since Wed, Nov 17, 2010
Documentation on X-ray Report
Viewed 1037 times since Fri, May 13, 2011
Laparoscopy Exploratory
Viewed 3522 times since Mon, Apr 11, 2011
Coding Signs and Symptoms vs. Imaging Results
Viewed 2588 times since Tue, Nov 16, 2010
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506