Home » Categories » ICD-9-CM Coding

Poor Venous Access


Question

Oncology patient being sent for vascular access device insertion with dx of "poor venous access". What is the appropriate dx code for this? Would I just code the cancer diagnosis?

Answer

Per Coding Clinic, Second Quarter 2008, pg 14, poor IV access is not a diagnosis.  A code for the underlying condition being treated should be submitted instead.  

Disclaimer: All articles intended for general consumption only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Questionable Terms
Viewed 930 times since Mon, Aug 22, 2011
Extrinsic Asthma
Viewed 1705 times since Wed, Nov 17, 2010
Postoperative Complications
Viewed 1045 times since Mon, Apr 25, 2011
Low Potassium
Viewed 3445 times since Tue, Aug 23, 2011
Age range on Radiology Examination
Viewed 12872 times since Wed, Jun 15, 2011
Post Mastectomy Pain Syndrome
Viewed 6736 times since Thu, Jun 9, 2011
Chronically Elevated HCG
Viewed 3996 times since Thu, Apr 21, 2011
Myocardial Infarction Initial vs. Subsequent
Viewed 5496 times since Tue, Nov 16, 2010
Outpatient Orders
Viewed 1065 times since Thu, Jun 23, 2011
CHF and Rheumatic Heart Disease
Viewed 5395 times since Thu, May 12, 2011
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506