Home » Categories » ICD-9-CM Coding

Poor Venous Access


Question

Oncology patient being sent for vascular access device insertion with dx of "poor venous access". What is the appropriate dx code for this? Would I just code the cancer diagnosis?

Answer

Per Coding Clinic, Second Quarter 2008, pg 14, poor IV access is not a diagnosis.  A code for the underlying condition being treated should be submitted instead.  

Disclaimer: All articles intended for general consumption only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Dyspnea and SOB
Viewed 2674 times since Tue, Mar 29, 2011
Medicare Screening Vaginal Pap Smear
Viewed 7632 times since Tue, May 3, 2011
Versus Or Contrasting/Comparative Diagnosis
Viewed 1404 times since Thu, Oct 27, 2011
Meniscus Tear
Viewed 1582 times since Mon, Jun 27, 2011
Charcots foot
Viewed 866 times since Thu, Jul 7, 2011
Myelodysplastic syndrome
Viewed 2492 times since Mon, May 2, 2011
Documentation on X-ray Report
Viewed 911 times since Fri, May 13, 2011
Viabahn Endograft
Viewed 2690 times since Mon, Apr 11, 2011
Impending Respiratory Decline and Insufficiency
Viewed 2170 times since Thu, Jun 16, 2011
Vacuum Attempt During Delivery
Viewed 1429 times since Tue, Apr 26, 2011
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506