Home » Categories » ICD-9-CM Coding

Poor Venous Access


Question

Oncology patient being sent for vascular access device insertion with dx of "poor venous access". What is the appropriate dx code for this? Would I just code the cancer diagnosis?

Answer

Per Coding Clinic, Second Quarter 2008, pg 14, poor IV access is not a diagnosis.  A code for the underlying condition being treated should be submitted instead.  

Disclaimer: All articles intended for general consumption only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Defibrillator Activation
Viewed 4390 times since Tue, Apr 3, 2012
Acute vs. Chronic Rotator Cuff Tear
Viewed 7840 times since Thu, Apr 14, 2011
Oversewing a Ruptured Ovarian Cyst
Viewed 3022 times since Thu, Feb 17, 2011
Family History vs Screening Colonscopy
Viewed 979 times since Tue, May 8, 2012
Tricompartmental Degenerative Disease
Viewed 3898 times since Thu, Jul 21, 2011
Metastatic Cancer Eradicated
Viewed 900 times since Wed, Dec 21, 2011
Coding CLL and NHL
Viewed 1684 times since Tue, Apr 5, 2011
Radiation Therapy Documentation
Viewed 921 times since Thu, Jun 9, 2011
Spine Coding
Viewed 50 times since Wed, Oct 12, 2011
Late Effects Codes For Fracture
Viewed 3194 times since Tue, Feb 15, 2011
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506