Home » Categories » ICD-9-CM Coding

Poor Venous Access


Question

Oncology patient being sent for vascular access device insertion with dx of "poor venous access". What is the appropriate dx code for this? Would I just code the cancer diagnosis?

Answer

Per Coding Clinic, Second Quarter 2008, pg 14, poor IV access is not a diagnosis.  A code for the underlying condition being treated should be submitted instead.  

Disclaimer: All articles intended for general consumption only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Reactive Airway Disease
Viewed 9090 times since Sun, Apr 15, 2012
Which of Two Diagnosis Would be Principal?
Viewed 2184 times since Tue, Aug 28, 2012
Pleural Effusion & Atelectasis Coding
Viewed 3396 times since Mon, Jun 13, 2011
Respiratory Arrest
Viewed 7029 times since Fri, Apr 22, 2011
BMI
Viewed 110 times since Thu, Jan 20, 2011
Acute asthmatic bronchitis
Viewed 21515 times since Wed, Jun 22, 2011
Spine Coding
Viewed 50 times since Wed, Oct 12, 2011
Abdominal Pain Versus Pelvic Pain
Viewed 5170 times since Thu, Mar 31, 2011
Low Potassium
Viewed 4172 times since Tue, Aug 23, 2011
Emergency Room Diagnosis
Viewed 1661 times since Thu, Apr 14, 2011
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506