Home » Categories » ICD-9-CM Coding

Post Mastectomy Pain Syndrome


Question

Oncologist is documenting patient has "post mastectomy pain syndrome" and is on daily Gabapentin for this condition. WHat is the diagnosis code for this? 

Answer

According to articles on post mastectomy pain syndrome, this condition is caused by the sacrificing of the intercostal nerve during the mastectomy.  Since there is no code available to capture a post mastectomy pain syndrome, it is suggested that this condition be coded to a chronic postoperative pain syndrome.  This condition is coded to the chronic classification since you have indicated that the patient is on daily medication for this condition.  338.28 is suggested to capture chronic post operative pain.


Disclaimer: All articles intended for general consumption only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
ICD-9 code Periampullary diverticulum
Viewed 6946 times since Tue, Sep 20, 2011
Newborn with Circumsion
Viewed 13972 times since Thu, Nov 8, 2012
Pediatric vs Adult BMI
Viewed 2550 times since Wed, May 4, 2011
Stroke
Viewed 2503 times since Fri, May 27, 2011
Chest Pain
Viewed 2053 times since Wed, Sep 21, 2011
Hypotension
Viewed 1552 times since Thu, Jul 7, 2011
Asthma and Allergic Rhinitis
Viewed 7488 times since Sat, May 28, 2011
Sun Poisoning
Viewed 2109 times since Thu, Jul 28, 2011
Patient Instructions
Viewed 965 times since Mon, May 23, 2011
Pressure Ulcers
Viewed 1508 times since Fri, May 6, 2011
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506