Home » Categories » ICD-9-CM Coding

Post Mastectomy Pain Syndrome


Question

Oncologist is documenting patient has "post mastectomy pain syndrome" and is on daily Gabapentin for this condition. WHat is the diagnosis code for this? 

Answer

According to articles on post mastectomy pain syndrome, this condition is caused by the sacrificing of the intercostal nerve during the mastectomy.  Since there is no code available to capture a post mastectomy pain syndrome, it is suggested that this condition be coded to a chronic postoperative pain syndrome.  This condition is coded to the chronic classification since you have indicated that the patient is on daily medication for this condition.  338.28 is suggested to capture chronic post operative pain.


Disclaimer: All articles intended for general consumption only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Outpatient Orders
Viewed 1017 times since Thu, Jun 23, 2011
Postoperative Ileus
Viewed 2577 times since Fri, Jun 17, 2011
Principal Diagnosis Assignment on ED Patient
Viewed 1386 times since Mon, Oct 10, 2011
Vacuum Attempt During Delivery
Viewed 1379 times since Tue, Apr 26, 2011
Ostomy Complication
Viewed 4095 times since Wed, Nov 17, 2010
Coding Osteoporosis and Osteopenia
Viewed 5828 times since Thu, Jul 21, 2011
Pediatric vs Adult BMI
Viewed 2112 times since Wed, May 4, 2011
Back Pain with Muscle Spasm
Viewed 7395 times since Thu, Mar 31, 2011
Coding High Risk Mammogram
Viewed 1725 times since Wed, Apr 6, 2011
Pulmonary Nodules and Emphysema
Viewed 2920 times since Sat, Apr 9, 2011
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506