Home » Categories » ICD-9-CM Coding

S/P Stent Placement


Question

If a patient presents with a history of cardiac stent placement we had been using V45.82 to identify this history. After some research we have concluded that you don’t necessarily have to have a PTCA to have a stent placed. Is this the correct V code to identify a history of a stent placed or is there another code that we should be using?

Question

The information I reviewed seemed to indicate that most of the time, either a stent is placed following an angioplasty to shore up the walls of the coronary artery or the stent is placed over an angioplasty balloon and inflated once in place.  There is no individual code to indicate a patient is status post stenting but it would appear that most often an angioplasty does occur with stenting which would allow the reporting of V45.82.


Disclaimer: All articles intended for general consumption only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.

Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Pap Smear ICD-9 Coding
Viewed 3665 times since Fri, May 4, 2012
Multi-system Organ Failure
Viewed 5294 times since Mon, Feb 14, 2011
Pressure Ulcers
Viewed 1377 times since Fri, May 6, 2011
CHF and Rheumatic Heart Disease
Viewed 5702 times since Thu, May 12, 2011
Intraoperative Bleeding- E Codes
Viewed 1758 times since Tue, Jun 14, 2011
Which of Two Diagnosis Would be Principal?
Viewed 1999 times since Tue, Aug 28, 2012
Wound Care
Viewed 1257 times since Thu, Apr 14, 2011
Postoperative Ileus
Viewed 2950 times since Fri, Jun 17, 2011
Excisional Debridement
Viewed 7445 times since Fri, Sep 21, 2012
Depth of Debridement
Viewed 3084 times since Thu, Apr 28, 2011
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506