Home » Categories » ICD-9-CM Coding

S/P Stent Placement


Question

If a patient presents with a history of cardiac stent placement we had been using V45.82 to identify this history. After some research we have concluded that you don’t necessarily have to have a PTCA to have a stent placed. Is this the correct V code to identify a history of a stent placed or is there another code that we should be using?

Question

The information I reviewed seemed to indicate that most of the time, either a stent is placed following an angioplasty to shore up the walls of the coronary artery or the stent is placed over an angioplasty balloon and inflated once in place.  There is no individual code to indicate a patient is status post stenting but it would appear that most often an angioplasty does occur with stenting which would allow the reporting of V45.82.


Disclaimer: All articles intended for general consumption only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.

Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Intraoperative Bleeding- E Codes
Viewed 1673 times since Tue, Jun 14, 2011
Abdominal Pain Versus Pelvic Pain
Viewed 4059 times since Thu, Mar 31, 2011
Lack of Normal Physiological Development
Viewed 2233 times since Wed, Oct 26, 2011
EKG Coding
Viewed 1113 times since Thu, Jul 7, 2011
Stroke
Viewed 1937 times since Fri, May 27, 2011
Sarcoidosis Metastatic to Bone
Viewed 1260 times since Mon, Jun 27, 2011
Xigris Reporting
Viewed 1522 times since Wed, Nov 17, 2010
Laparoscopy Exploratory
Viewed 3143 times since Mon, Apr 11, 2011
Oversewing a Ruptured Ovarian Cyst
Viewed 3542 times since Thu, Feb 17, 2011
Spine Coding
Viewed 50 times since Wed, Oct 12, 2011
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506