Home » Categories » Laboratory Coding

STAT Lab Test


Question

Our lab director wants to start charging extra for a STAT lab test in addition to the blood collection, 36415.  I don’t see anything in the CPT book or I’m not looking in the right place. 

Answer

Charges for performing stat tests must be included in the charge for the laboratory test.  There is no CPT code to report and some payers might deny the charge.

Disclaimer: All articles intended for general guidance only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Glucose Monitoring
Viewed 1897 times since Thu, Jan 6, 2011
Lab Charges With Edit Not Allowed
Viewed 2514 times since Wed, Sep 14, 2011
Bill type 141-Non Patient
Viewed 6693 times since Thu, Apr 21, 2011
Gram Stain Orders/Protocol For Cultures
Viewed 1460 times since Tue, Feb 22, 2011
CPT code 87177 and 87015
Viewed 3723 times since Sat, Dec 10, 2011
GZ Modifier
Viewed 1805 times since Wed, Nov 17, 2010
ER Charging P9612
Viewed 1547 times since Wed, Aug 3, 2011
Celiac Panel
Viewed 2833 times since Fri, Oct 14, 2011
Modifier 59 on Pathology Specimens
Viewed 2509 times since Wed, Oct 5, 2011
Blood Glucose
Viewed 2245 times since Fri, Jan 7, 2011
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506