Home » Categories » ICD-9-CM Coding

Tricompartmental Degenerative Disease


Question

If a xray report states: tricompartmental degenerative disease or changes in the knee, is it correct to assume and code this as osteoarthritis in the knee?

Answer

Yes.  The alphabetic index refers the coder to also see osteoarthritis when coding a degenerative joint disease.

Disclaimer: All articles intended for general consumption only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Fracture
Viewed 876 times since Sat, Nov 26, 2011
Outpatient Orders
Viewed 1017 times since Thu, Jun 23, 2011
Incidental Findings
Viewed 2448 times since Fri, Apr 22, 2011
Pediatric vs Adult BMI
Viewed 2114 times since Wed, May 4, 2011
Abdominal Pain Versus Pelvic Pain
Viewed 3885 times since Thu, Mar 31, 2011
Reason for the Admission
Viewed 686 times since Thu, Apr 19, 2012
Retrobulbar Hemorrhage
Viewed 3807 times since Fri, Nov 9, 2012
History of HTN
Viewed 1851 times since Thu, Jul 7, 2011
Respiratory Arrest
Viewed 95 times since Tue, Nov 16, 2010
Xigris Reporting
Viewed 1495 times since Wed, Nov 17, 2010
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506