Home » Categories » ICD-9-CM Coding

Tricompartmental Degenerative Disease


Question

If a xray report states: tricompartmental degenerative disease or changes in the knee, is it correct to assume and code this as osteoarthritis in the knee?

Answer

Yes.  The alphabetic index refers the coder to also see osteoarthritis when coding a degenerative joint disease.

Disclaimer: All articles intended for general consumption only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Pressure Ulcers
Viewed 1396 times since Fri, May 6, 2011
Abdominal and Pelvic Pain
Viewed 1063 times since Tue, Aug 23, 2011
Localized Sepsis
Viewed 3028 times since Wed, Nov 17, 2010
BAROTRAUMA
Viewed 1333 times since Fri, Jul 1, 2011
Systolic CHF
Viewed 1449 times since Mon, Sep 19, 2011
Debridements
Viewed 1207 times since Wed, May 11, 2011
Perforated Cecum
Viewed 5397 times since Wed, Aug 3, 2011
Hypotension
Viewed 1399 times since Thu, Jul 7, 2011
Pediatric vs Adult BMI
Viewed 2341 times since Wed, May 4, 2011
Versus Or Contrasting/Comparative Diagnosis
Viewed 1538 times since Thu, Oct 27, 2011
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506