Home » Categories » ICD-9-CM Coding

Tricompartmental Degenerative Disease


Question

If a xray report states: tricompartmental degenerative disease or changes in the knee, is it correct to assume and code this as osteoarthritis in the knee?

Answer

Yes.  The alphabetic index refers the coder to also see osteoarthritis when coding a degenerative joint disease.

Disclaimer: All articles intended for general consumption only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Altered Mental Status Followed by Two Definitive Etiologies - Inpatient
Viewed 3151 times since Thu, Mar 10, 2011
Reactive Airway Disease
Viewed 8902 times since Sun, Apr 15, 2012
Xigris Reporting
Viewed 1682 times since Wed, Nov 17, 2010
Emergency Room Diagnosis
Viewed 1639 times since Thu, Apr 14, 2011
Borderline Serous Ovarian Tumor
Viewed 5380 times since Tue, Jun 14, 2011
Outpatient Orders
Viewed 1177 times since Thu, Jun 23, 2011
Laparoscopy Exploratory
Viewed 3638 times since Mon, Apr 11, 2011
Postoperative Ileus
Viewed 3135 times since Fri, Jun 17, 2011
Cesarean Section
Viewed 3465 times since Tue, May 24, 2011
Pallative Care
Viewed 1096 times since Sat, Apr 2, 2011
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506