Home » Categories » ICD-9-CM Coding

Tricompartmental Degenerative Disease


Question

If a xray report states: tricompartmental degenerative disease or changes in the knee, is it correct to assume and code this as osteoarthritis in the knee?

Answer

Yes.  The alphabetic index refers the coder to also see osteoarthritis when coding a degenerative joint disease.

Disclaimer: All articles intended for general consumption only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Surgical Procedure Code-Coposacropexy
Viewed 2864 times since Thu, May 19, 2011
Mechanical Ventilation
Viewed 2844 times since Wed, Nov 17, 2010
Charcots foot
Viewed 1084 times since Thu, Jul 7, 2011
Outpatient Documentation
Viewed 1287 times since Thu, Jul 19, 2012
Incidental Findings
Viewed 3379 times since Fri, Apr 22, 2011
Coding High Risk Mammogram
Viewed 2291 times since Wed, Apr 6, 2011
Laparoscopic Hysterectomies
Viewed 1845 times since Thu, Apr 7, 2011
Admit and Reason for Visit Codes
Viewed 2589 times since Thu, Apr 19, 2012
Defibrillator Firing
Viewed 5880 times since Thu, Dec 2, 2010
Myelodysplastic syndrome
Viewed 3440 times since Mon, May 2, 2011
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506