Home » Categories » Imaging/Radiology Coding

Ultrasound Guidance for Vascular Access


Question

Just wanting to verify the appropirate codes to use when a radiologist inserts a PICC Line and does it by ultrasound guidance.  Would you use 76937 with 36569?  Then charge for the supplies used (i.e PICC Line kit).

Answer

76937 is appropriate for ultrasound guidance for vascular access, including a PICC line.  The code requires ultrasound evaluation of potential access sites, documentation of selected vessel patency, concurrent realtime ultrasound visualization of vascular needle entry, with permanent recording and reporting. The use of ultrasound to locate a vein or mark a skin entry site for a nonguided puncture is not considered an ultrasound guided procedure and does not meet requirements to report 76937.

Disclaimer: All articles intended for general guidance only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Mammogram Single Breast
Viewed 4729 times since Thu, Jan 13, 2011
Computer Aided Detection
Viewed 1187 times since Thu, Mar 3, 2011
Ultrasound
Viewed 2125 times since Wed, Aug 24, 2011
Drug Wastage for Contrast Media
Viewed 1196 times since Wed, Nov 17, 2010
New Nuclear Medicine Codes
Viewed 1509 times since Sat, Jan 21, 2012
Radiology
Viewed 1142 times since Fri, Nov 30, 2012
Mammograms
Viewed 1640 times since Sat, Mar 12, 2011
Modifier-Cardiac Cath
Viewed 40489 times since Wed, Oct 26, 2011
MRA Lower Extremities
Viewed 3747 times since Wed, Apr 20, 2011
MRI Bilateral Hips
Viewed 3627 times since Sat, Aug 27, 2011
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506