Home » Categories » Laboratory Coding

Urine Volume Collection


If a 24-hour urine sodium is done (CPT 84300), is it okay to also bill CPT 81050, volume measurement? 


CPT code 81050 Volume measurement for timed collection, each can be added when it is not already inherent in the lab test.  Code 84300 Sodium, urine can be performed on a single sample or a 24 hour sample.  When performed on a 24 hour sample, it is appropriate to charge for the urine volume measurement.  When performing multiple tests on a 24 hour collection, you can charge 81050 only once during the 24 hour period.  An example of a code where 81050 could not be separately charged is 82575 Creatinine clearance.  In order to perform creatinine clearance, the sample must be a 24 hour sample, therefore, the volume measurement is already included in 82575 and cannot be charged separately.

Disclaimer: All articles intended for general guidance only and not as a recommendation for a specific situation. Readers should consult an official source (AHA, AMA, etc.) or a qualified attorney for specific legal guidance.
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Different Charges for Same CPT Code in Reflex Tests
Viewed 1748 times since Wed, May 16, 2012
Bill type 141-Non Patient
Viewed 7054 times since Thu, Apr 21, 2011
ER Charging P9612
Viewed 1637 times since Wed, Aug 3, 2011
Thyroid Testing
Viewed 7414 times since Wed, Nov 17, 2010
Cortisol Stimulation Test
Viewed 4460 times since Fri, Aug 5, 2011
Modifier 59 on Pathology Specimens
Viewed 2612 times since Wed, Oct 5, 2011
Viewed 961 times since Wed, Jul 25, 2012
Quad Screen
Viewed 1064 times since Wed, Nov 23, 2011
Pap smear and Urine Cytology
Viewed 2530 times since Tue, Jun 14, 2011
86580 TB Skin Test
Viewed 12716 times since Fri, Feb 11, 2011
Quorum Health Resources, LLC :: 105 Continental Place Brentwood, TN 37027 :: Phone: (615) 371-4506